Laggan Wood in Blanefield – 2014

The winner of the 2014 award for a new build. Designed by John White Architects. The Trust said the win was all the more impressive given the high standard of entries.

2014 Winner

2014 Winner

Trust Convenor Nigel Buchanan said “The Trust had a number of entries all of which were visited by the judging panel. The standard of entry was as always high. However the judges were unanimous in the award going to Laggan Wood.”

Chairman of the judging panel Ken Lawson said of the winning entry: “Although we might have judged from the preliminary photographs that this house leant heavily on top-end manufactured elements, nothing prepared us for the sheer delight of the internal spaces and the huge impact which was achieved within a small area by the opening up of views upwards and downwards through the stair well.

“The living spaces were arranged at three levels around this central area and the interplay of internal and external views was fascinating.

“Our only reservation was that there might have been a conflict between the gable glazing and the comfort of the bedrooms, but this was clearly not a view shared by the owners.

“In terms of the quality of design and workmanship and the ingenuity of the solution to a difficult site we found this project to be exemplary.

The visit was, however, something of a bittersweet experience for assessors Kenneth Lawson, Jane Nelson and Archie Stirling.

Mr Lawson explained: “The Civic Trust were deeply saddened by the sudden death of one of the intended assessors Iain Webster a week before the visits, but grateful to Jane Nelson for stepping in at short notice to take his place.

“With one exception, all of the entries to this year’s awards were domestic. Nevertheless there was a wide variety of approaches and of levels of achievement.

None of the entries scored highly in all of the areas highlighted in the conditions of entry, but many achieved a consistency of response and had few, if any weak aspects.

A Highly Commended Certificate was also awarded to McEachern Architects for Woodhouse Coffee Shop and Commended Certificates to Bobby Halliday Architects for North Kersebonny Farm Steading and to McEachern Architects for Hayford Lodge.